When we see the early signs that daylight’s fading

The sun now rises at 7:16AM and sets at 6:02PM. Both of which times I am on public transportation to or from work. I know, it’s only going to get worse. Expect more complaining.

All this to say: I miss my daylight. I miss taking outfit shots on my balcony. I miss my vitamin D, not to mention the way a nice sunny day can just lift your mood. And since my desk at work doesn’t even give me a view of a window, it makes it all the more depressing.

Speaking of depressing… on the other hand, if I am listening to music I love, it improves my mood drastically. I put the Mumford & Sons album on my ipod last night and that’s all I’m listening to on repeat right now at work. This keeps my coworkers’ conversations out of my head and I can work much better if I drown out the world with a pair of earphones.

That is until you decide to take a break from what you are doing and surf the net all the while a coworker is standing behind you trying to get your attention. Hmmm not that that ever happened at my old job or anything…

 Last week was the last of my classes and I just finished up my project on the weekend. Let’s celebrate! Oh no, cancel that, I’m starting another class tonight for the next 5 weeks. I don’t mind too much though, I could honestly spend 24 hours straight in photoshop. If only my day job consisted of just photoshopping. Life would be swell. Unfortunately a huge chunk of my day is spent going through emails and dealing with issues with factories. And pulling out my hair. And drinking lots of tea. And gluing my hair back onto my head.

So to the pictures! These are a few from Saturday and Sunday. I only left the apartment to walk the dog or go on a breakfast/walmart run. And by run I mean sit in the passenger seat of Matt’s car. At least I went rollerbladin! Right? I’m an athlete. (That’s what Matt says he is after he rollerblades once a month) Come winter I will be snowboarding (or intending to) several times. Heck it already snowed on the mountain! (go seeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeek) I’ll be up there bustin my butt in no time. This makes me stupidly happy. Spending a day on the mountain makes up for all the shitty snow/slush/delayed public transportation/freezing cold/darkness. Ok it half makes up for it. Until I start putting on my one piece long johns and head up that chairlift, I will be complaining. I spent most of the weekend in sweat pants… I only put these leggings and this fuzzy sweater dress on to go rollerblading. Much more aerodynamic in leggings than in gigantic sweat pants.

4 thoughts on “When we see the early signs that daylight’s fading

  1. i love these pics! the leaves and the sky.. so dreamy. and, that dog is very photogenic. you are killing me with your roller blades! i wish i exercised. oh well.
    going to have a cup of coffee – gasp!

  2. Ditto on the Mumford and Sons album; been listening to it while making supper and cleaning up around the house. Thanks for telling me about them.

    And about missing the daylight… try spending 6 months in complete, 24/7 darkness… I did that a couple years ago in the Arctic. I’m not saying you have no right to complain, but really it’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it?
    :D

    Love the leaves, very colourful. (Even if spell-check is insisting on spelling it ‘colorful’… silly United Statians.)


    Spare me your judgements and spare me your dreams
    Cause recently mine have been tearing my seams

  3. I can jussst make the last 20 minutes before total darkness. I estimate I have max 2 weeks left of being able to do this. It’s depressing enough to leave and come home from work in the darkness, but now it’s going to effect my blogging too!

    I do love that sky picture tho…so gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

