13 for 30 | Recap

Just over a month ago I decided to try a clothing challenge. I had recently read about a girl who only wore 6 items of clothing for a month (not including shoes & accessories) and I was so impressed, I felt I needed to challenge myself too. I went back in forth between doing a 30 for 30 (like Kendi of Kendi Everyday) or doing something a little bit more difficult like 6 items. I finally – last minute – threw together 13 items (not including shoes or accessories) on October 31st right before going to bed. On November 1st, the challenge started. At first I thought it would be really boring and depressing to wear only a tiny portion of my closet for a whole month. This turned out to only apply to weekend days because I had only included a few things that were weekend comfortable clothes.

The end was bittersweet; I was happy to no longer have to take daily pictures and was relieved that I could wear anything out of my closet. On the other hand, when I went to look in my closet for my first challenge-less outfit, I found myself disappointed in the selection. I guess I had built up my closet during that month thinking I had all these amazing pieces I could throw together and it turned out I just had the same old closet that I was unsatisfied with before the challenge. Now I am well aware that I sound like a spoiled brat here but I feel I should be honest, why would I lie on my own blog? Despite being unsatisfied, I am not going out and shopping. For one, I’m on a shopping ban and for two, I think I know what the problem is.

Having only 13 items forced me to try new things to keep my outfits feeling fresh and new. When you have a lot of clothes to choose from, you are more likely to throw a bunch of stuff together and head out the door. When you have so much selection, you get lazy and don’t try as hard to come up with original interesting outfits. Does this make sense? Having a limited wardrobe forced me to take some time the night before and make my outfit interesting.

There will always be lazy days where I will throw on whatever I can find that’s decent but maybe I’ll try interesting things more often for days at the office to keep things fun and interesting. You know it’s true, if you think you look good, you feel good.

I encourage everyone to try to push themselves a little to work with what’s already in their closet instead of going out shopping when they are uninspired by the items they already have.

4 thoughts on “13 for 30 | Recap

  1. I like them all, but 19 – 30 are definitely my faves!

    You don’t selfish, you sound enlightened and extremely smart!
    You are totally right!
    I have been puttering around the house all day contemplating a shopping ban until next year for myself.
    Especially since I just found out I have to replace the alternator a pulley and a belt in my car.
    YIKES.

  2. i love this…your outfits, your point of view. and it totally makes sense. i was just telling christina the other day that i have SO much clothing…i can’t make heads or tails of it. i have so many “potential” outfits, i get discouraged and end up throwing on the same shit every time.

    i’m considering a challenge like this…

    thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Hmmm….6, 20, 27 & 30 are my picks. Not necessarily in that order..

    Anyhoo, I can see these being compiled into a pretty snazzy calendar. That’d be cool.

    I’d take on the challenge myself, however having to wear a uniform each day somewhat defies the purpose… and I could be more than satisfied with only 5 articles for my time off…
    Now having to wear something different every day, not repeating a single item for the month, THAT would be a challenge. Do I even own that many clothes???

    Congratulations again. I agree with above, you may feel dissatisfied, but your thoughts are more reflective and inspired than you may be aware.

    P.S. I hope the vedge cooking classes carry on for December…

  4. I’m so so impressed with you. And I appreciate the recap since I haven’t quite been the best blog reader lately. You really managed to keep yourself looking fresh despite the fact that you’re wearing the same 13 pieces over and over and over. Even though I have a closet full of clothes to choose from I oftentimes feel like I go into work looking frumpy or not put together, don’t get me wrong, it’s probably the lack of effort, not the clothes itself. All I’m saying is that I have no excuse now!

Leave a Reply

