Blogging || Year one in review

Who the heck would have thought I would keep up this blog for a whole year? I’m pretty impressed with myself but this blog is such a part of me now that I can’t imagine not having it. I would be so bored. And since I gave up Facebook a few months ago, I have no other way to share my life with people.

FRIENDS

I have learnt a lot from this blog. I think the best part about blogging is the amazing people you get to meet along the way. Unless you are part of this ‘blogging world’ you can’t begin to imagine all the connections you can make over the web. I was lucky enough to spend 3 days with Paige, Zoe, Christina, Merl and Amanda this past weekend and that was definitely the highlight of my first year of blogging. I can’t forget all the other great ladies who’s blogs I follow or who I chat with over twitter and email. They are all so supportive and encouraging.

STYLE

I think another noticeable thing about the past year is my style. Only a few months into blogging, I started changing my hair. I felt too mainstream with long hair, I needed to stick out a little more, I needed hair with personality. I can’t make any promises (Santina) that the hair won’t change in the next few months but I definitely feel I’ve attained – many – original hairdos. {My hairdresser LOVES me, if she had kids, I would have put them through college}.

Not only did my hair change but I also changed my shopping habits. When I would write posts about what I wore and realize that only a small percentage of my day-to-day items were second-hand, I decided to change that. I now have plenty of work clothes that come from the thrift store and I hardly ever shop online or go to malls anymore. It’s too expensive and I feel good about myself and my impact on the environment buying used.

I’ve also been inspired by many bloggers to try new things and take chances. I will admit that I still have some pieces I just havent got the balls to wear out but I’ve come a long way.

PHOTOGRAPHY

Another thing blogging has pushed me into is photography. I have always wanted to have a SLR camera, I even had a piggy bank that was for buying a camera. I soon realized that my small change would not get me far and that fund was put on hold. When I started my blog, it was the push I needed to get me to go out and invest in one. Because I bought that camera, I started taking more photography related classes and I am starting a light & subject class at the end of the month.

THE DARK SIDE

Just like Star Wars, blogging has its own Darth Vader. It also goes by the names of doubt, insecurity & jealousy. You might not get this if you aren’t a blogger but I think most of the bloggers out there can relate. (And the weekend talking with fellow bloggers reinforced that) In the end, it’s important to blog for yourself and if blogging feels like a chore rather than a fun hobby, you need to decide if it’s making you happy.

In year 2, my psychic powers predict more traveling, meeting more great people, lots of blog redesigning {duh} and a whole lot more awkward posing! Oh and probably more haircuts ;).

12 thoughts on “Blogging || Year one in review

  1. You with long hair is blowing my mind! And look at how much change you’ve gone through in the past year! We’re coming up on our 1 year in about 2 months, I can’t freaking believe it. Time flies. I think one of the best parts of having a blog is going to be looking back a decade from now and seeing what you were wearing/thinking/doing.

    Please tell me that year 2 will include a visit to San Francisco – that’d be awesome!

  2. LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! being one who hasn’t had the pleasure of following you this whole year, i really loved getting to see these pictures of your past life and hair :) i really like how you approached this milestone of blogging. showing the good the bad and the ugly. but i know for a fact that there has been WAY more good. can’t wait to see what all you do in year 2!!! and so glad i got to be a part of your life.

  3. You are freaking cute, and I love all your hair styles! I was the EXACT same way. I changed my color and cut monthly, and finally took the plunge and got my short pixie which I’ve realized is more me than ever. And don’t worry about rushing the letter girl! It will be a happy surprise whenever it comes, and I don’t ever want our penpal relationship to feel like a chore. I won’t ever get my feelings hurt over a delayed response, promise. ; )

  4. dude, these photos bring back memories…of when i first started reading your blog. (you hadn’t cut your locks yet.) i fell hard for you back in the day…and then you popped my two comments in one post from the same blogger cherry. and then we met…IRL! what a rollercoaster ride it’s been. i adore you emily, dear. your wit, your yummy looking recipes (yet to be tried by moi), your feisty ‘tude, those freaking awesome legs…i like you. no matter where your blog takes you this year and now matter how long it takes for us to get together again…i wish you nothing but the best, true happiness, and penis straws. ;) xoxo

  5. Ahhh, the evolution of your hair!! I just found you a few months ago, but I am def looking forward to sticking with you through year 2 of tomorrow. I always enjoy reading your posts (and your comments) because you always make me laugh and I love a good dose of sarcasm, and you’ve always got some to dole out. Keep the dark side at bay and stay blogging please, k thanks!

    xo, Ashley

  6. Love this look back, especially since I hadn’t seen many of these pics! Congratulations on making it a year, and I can’t wait to see what year two brings. (I’m with Becca on a trip to San Francisco…just wait until June or so…) I kinda want to hang out and show each other pictures of past haircuts. I think it’d be fun? What? That’s weird…okay, I’ll stop now. :)

  7. I think the reason blog birthdays seem like sort of a big deal to me is that it is like a new year, but with out all the january first hullabaloo and pressure of beginning a new calendar year. Its a more personal new year and a great time to reflect. With a blog you can go through your archives and see how you have changed with real photographic proof to trigger your memories. Blogging for a whole year I think fundamentally changes a person in ways we don’t anticipate. I feel so honored to have in a way been able to celebrate your one year mark with you in person. Looking at your photos from the last year is an extra added treat, and your insight rings so true. I am really looking forward to getting to know you even more now in year two. :) OH and when is this San Fran Trip? Its only 3 hours from me. . .

  8. Look atchu, ya big ‘ol hottie! All these pictures just remind me of how gorgeous you are. And congratulations on one year! I’ve only been following you for a few months, but I’m quite glad you’re in the blog-o-world. :)

Leave a Reply

