WHAT I WORE

Billabong t-shirt – thrifted
Tribal mini skirt – thrifted
Panama hat – thrifted
Vintage 80’s sunglasses – thrifted
Earrings – thrifted
Leather bag – thrifted
Sandals – old navy (from years ago)

You know what I love? An 85% thrifted outfit. [That doesn’t include underwear for you curious creepos] I visited my parents for the weekend – which explains the outfit photos – and hit up the church sale and flea market with my mom. The hat, bag and sunglasses above were part of the haul from the church, which worked out well since they were announcing rain all weekend and I didn’t pack any sunglasses.  P.s. You suck weather network.

I haven’t posted an outfit in over a month! And to think I used to post almost daily. I don’t bust my ass just to get a photo of my outfit anymore. There was a time where I would stress out about not getting photos of my outfits, scared of missing the light, freezing my butt off in the cold all for the sake of showing other people what I was wearing. (weird, no?) It feels great to get past that point. I think I started ‘fashion’ blogging at a time that I needed something more in my life and my blog filled that need, gave me a goal and forced me to try new things and be inspired by other bloggers. I just felt like something was missing if I didn’t post every day. I would sometimes get home at 11 or 12 at night after my night classes and set up my tripod and take outfit photos.

I have lots of days where I wonder if I want to keep blogging here. I do enjoy encouraging people to think outside the box, shop at thrift stores and pick quality pieces over quantity but sometimes I feel like I have too many things going on and I am spreading myself too thin across the board. I have a full time job, an etsy store, TWO blogs and photography on the side. Then there is twitter, instagram, all the blogs I read (or try to read). There are also all the workshops I want to do, classes I want to take. The list of what I want to do goes on and on. You know, like owning a horse I can ride around, living off the fat of the land, skydiving… the usual.

I’m not quitting my blog, I just need to find a good middle ground. Maybe that means making some changes, I haven’t figured it out yet. But I no longer worry about keeping up a constant flow of outfit posts here. I feel like the blog is at a quiet but comfortable place now. I love showing you guys how great Montreal is with my weekend photos and sharing all the goodies I find at thrift stores to encourage you to do the same. And the occasional picture of me posing awkwardly is just the cherry on top!

6 thoughts on “WHAT I WORE

  1. adoring this and you. i feel the same way. in fact, was JUST thinking this when i scrolled upon your post. i like my blog where it’s at, too…i post when i can, when i have something to say or an outfit to share. it’s all good. i really do freaking love this outfit tho. damn, girl.

Leave a Reply

