BLOGGING

I love blogging. I’ve had this blog for 2 and a half years. That’s a long time to be sharing online with complete strangers. The blog changes every so often and continues to reflect where I am in my life or what I feel it should reflect. But these days I don’t feel the need to document my outfits. I am just happy getting dressed for me, not for the sake of photographing, editing and posting for the world to see. I still continue to shop almost exclusively second-hand, that’s never going to change.

It’s a good sign in my head. It means I am less dependant on this blog for my own happiness and satisfaction. I don’t feel stressed at the idea of having no photos to post.

Hallelujah.

For now, I’m keeping this space for the silly narcissistic stuff I still like sharing. Fashion inspiration, occasional outfit posts, shop updates and my weekends in photos.  Who knows where we will be in another few months.

And if you still want more, I have my blog over on my website where I share little life tidbits and photos. I am concentrating a lot more of my energy on my photography and the direction I want to take with it so this blog inevitably gets put on the back burner at this time in my life. I can only stretch myself so thin and I want to focus my energy on the right things.

And to the bloggers out there that have not seen my regular face leaving too-long rambling comments, I am sorry, I still love you guys. I  just have other things that require all my spare time these days.

So I’m still here, taking photos, blogging, pinning, selling vintage, instagramming [tomorrow_emily] and tweeting.

6 thoughts on “BLOGGING

  1. amen. i’ve been feeling the same. i suppose i’ve felt this way for awhile, actually; however, posting outfit photos has become a bit of a habit and sometimes i do it…because it’s something to do. especially when i feel cute. ha! recently, when i found out my grandmother was ill, i stopped blogging because it felt so trivial and silly. (not to mention i was sad and spent a lot of my free time reflecting, reading, hanging with the fam.) that time away from my blog…i didn’t miss it. in fact, i started thinking more about NOT blogging. and not that age has anything to do with it, but how long can i keep this up? will i be 45 and blogging? god, i hope not. and it’s not like i’m blogging for money. it’s never going to be my “job.” sure, it’s been fun and i’ve made some amazing connections, but i think…i don’t know…i might be done. what often pulls me back in is reading other blogs. i get caught up in the whole thing…like it’s a club that i want to be a part of. silly. like you, i no longer feel the need to post every day. unless maybe i have time. (sometimes it’s really slow at work.) but if it wasn’t for that, i wouldn’t do it as much. there’s just no time. i think the bigger picture is that our society is wrapped up in OVERsharing…from myspace to facebook to blogs to instagram…and sometimes i think – well, i don’t have a facebook and if i stop blogging…will anyone know that i exist? that i’m doing cool things? wearing a dope pair of thrifted pants? eating the most delicious cheeseburger or drinking the yummiest cup of coffee? that zoey just made the cutest face and taylor said something really funny the other day? that i cut my hair and got a new purse?? i mean, hell…what did people do before the internet? how did people make friends and connect with like-minded people?? ridiculous. it makes me want to pull the plug and hang out with my family by candlelight. tell stories and read books. so yeah…rant over. thanks for letting me vent. even though you didn’t have much of a choice. ;)

  2. Good for you. Honestly. My favorite blogs are those that appear more of a hobby than a job. And I wish some bloggers would stop apologizing when they don’t post as regularly because they have other things going on. It’s ok. Life and happiness will always be more important than some blog. There’s no need to apologize for that. I like that you drum to your own beat. You have a talent for photography so I’m happy you’re focusing on that more. Keep up the good work :)

Leave a Reply

